The Mississippi County Sheriff’s Department is a flagship of Law Enforcement for our county.

Therefore, we must raise the bar of professionalism within the Sheriff’s Department to accomplish our mission: TO PROTECT AND SERVE OUR CITIZENS.


  • Focus on eliminating all levels of drug activity in our neighborhoods
  • School Campus Security Awareness Training
  • Safe School summits with Active shooter Training for law enforcement
  • CRASE Training (Civilian Response Active Shooter Education)
  • CSSO Training (Commissioned School Security Officer)
  • Improve cooperation with all police departments
  • Improve the training, equipment, and safety of the fine young men and women employed by our department

Proven Performance:

  • Board member of 2nd Judicial Drug Task Force since 2011
  • Past board member of former Missco School District
  • Past board member of Armorel School District
  • Operation Desert Storm Veteran (Bronze Star)
  • Military Veteran—32 years of service—retired as Lt. Colonel
  • Arkansas State Police officer—23 years of service
  • Mississippi County Sheriff—8 years of service


  • Missco High School Graduate
  • Arkansas Northeastern College
  • Southern Arkansas University
  • Arkansas Military Academy
  • US Army Infantry Officer Course
  • US Army Command and General Staff College
  • US Army Engineer Officer Basic & Advanced School

Law Enforcement:

  • 1995-96 Provost Marshall (MP Unit Commander) Arkansas 39th Infantry Brigade
  • 1988-2010 Arkansas State Trooper
  • 2011-present Mississippi County Sheriff (4th term)


  • Bronze Star
  • Meritorious Service
  • Army Commendation
  • Southwest Asia Service
  • Saudi Arabia Desert Storm Victory
  • Kuwait Liberation
  • Arkansas Distinguished Service



Wife: Melissa R. Tidwell Cook (BME, AState)

Children: Audrey, Matthew, and Makayla

Son-In-Law, Ken Luff and Grandchildren Haley Luff, Whitleigh Cook, Layne Luff, and Luke Honey

Church: Bethel Church of the Lord Jesus Christ

EARLY VOTING: October 22 - November 5, 2018

ELECTION DAY: November 6, 2018